Frequently asked questions

Our professions and activities raise many questions, debates and reactions. Below are answers to questions that are regularly asked.

Generality

Why eat crickets?

Are you looking for super nutritious foods? Or hyper ecological? Or originals? Who makes sense? Delicious? Crispy? Products locally? With a strong philosophy and principles (circular economy, urban agriculture, organic, etc …)? Our crickets combine all these qualities into one product. The future is now!

How are our crickets smoked?

Our crickets are cooked with love and smoked with beech wood.

Is eating crickets like eating a steak?

To find the same amount of protein as in a steak of 100 grams, it is necessary to consume 35g of dried crickets, the equivalent of one of our bags of crickets.

The dried cricket is 3 times richer in protein than meat, and it contains:

  • As much omega 3 as sardines
  • 2 times more iron than spinach
  • 36% more calcium than milk
  • 4 times more magnesium than bananas
  • 2 times more fiber than full bread
  • And 14 times more vitamin B12 than steak!

Are crickets BIO?

All Little Food crickets are fed with organic agricultural residues. The preparations we make are also made exclusively with BIO ingredients. We are controlled by Certisys for these elements. However, there is still no BIO legislation for insects in Europe. We work on it!

Is there gluten in our crickets?

Despite the fact that we feed our crickets with gluten-free foods, it is possible to find traces of gluten in crickets.

What taste do crickets have?

For some, they have a nutty taste, for others chicken, popcorn or bacon (smoked crickets). What is certain is that they are delicious! In terms of look, crickets are often compared to shrimps.

Animal wellbeing

How are Little Food crickets killed?

We use scalding, a quick and painless method to respect the well-being of the animal. Being cold-blooded animals, insects are very sensitive to any temperature difference. Scalding consists of immersing them in boiling water. Given their size and their decentralized nervous system, they kill them instantly.

How are Little Food crickets high?

After a 10-day incubation, the eggs of the crickets hatch. Small babies are placed directly on their food, in their pens, warm. They grow up with their peers and have as much water and food as they want. Crickets are cavernicolous and like to hide in shelters. Our intercalated egg boxes mimic their natural habitat and make them feel at home. The good health of our crickets, their peaceful behavior and the fact that they can have a natural behavior (reproduction, social life, …) convince us that they have a happy life.

What do Little Food crickets eat?

Our crickets are fed with agricultural residues, namely residues of pressing of oil of linseed and sunflower as well as its, all the BIO. There is no waste, because the circular economy is one of our priorities.

By using only co-products, we reduce the competition on farmland between crops for animal feed and those for humans, thus entering a logic of circular economy.

Use

How to cook Little Food crickets?

In addition to its exceptional nutritional qualities, the cricket will bring “crunch” to your preparations. You can incorporate it in the last step of a recipe or keep your crickets on the table and sprinkle your dishes. In wok, in salad, as crouton, in your panini, your quiches or in crumble and enrobed in chocolate the limit is only your imagination.

How to use our other products?

Our eggplant-crickets tapenade can be spread on toast or sandwiches. It is also a good base to enhance your pasta and sauces. Crickers are a healthy and natural solution for everyday hunger pangs. They can be enjoyed as an aperitif or as a protein snack before or after physical training. Made from natural ingredients and superfoods, they’ll give your cravings the extra vitamins and protein you deserve. As well enjoy!

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Nos métiers et nos activités soulèvent beaucoup de questions, de débat et de
réactions. Ci-dessous des réponses à des questions qu’on nous pose régulièrement.

GÉNÉRALITÉ

1. Pourquoi manger des grillons?

Vous recherchez des aliments hyper nutritif? Ou hyper écologique? Ou originaux? Qui ont du sens? Délicieux? Croustillants? Produits localement? Avec une philosophie et des principes forts (économie circulaire, agriculture urbaine, Bio, etc…)?  Nos grillons allient toutes ces qualités en un produit. The future is now!

2. Comment nos grillons sont-ils fumés?

Nos grillons sont cuisinés avec amour et fumés au bois de hêtre.

3. Est ce que manger des grillons c’est comme manger un steak?

Pour retrouver la même quantité de protéines que dans un steak de 100 grammes, il faut consommer 35g de grillons séchés, soit l’équivalent d’un de nos sachets de grillons.

Le grillon séché est 3 fois plus riche en protéines que la viande, et il contient :

  • Autant d’oméga 3 que les sardines
  • 2 fois plus de fer que les épinards
  • 36% de calcium de plus que le lait
  • 4 fois plus de magnésium que les bananes
  • 2 fois plus de fibres que le pain complet
  • Et 14 fois plus de Vitamine B12 que le steak!

4. Les grillons sont- ils BIO?

Tous les grillons de Little Food sont nourris avec des résidus agricoles BIO. Les préparations que nous faisons sont elles aussi réalisées exclusivement avec des ingrédients BIO. Nous sommes contrôlés par Certisys pour ces éléments. Cependant, il n’existe pas encore en Europe une législation BIO pour les insectes. On y travail!

5. Y a t-il du gluten dans nos grillons?

Malgré le fait que nous nourrissions nos grillons avec des aliments sans gluten, il est possible de retrouver des traces de gluten dans les grillons.

6. Quel goût ont les grillons?

Pour certains, ils ont un goût de noisette, pour d’autres de poulet, de pop-corn ou de  bacon (grillons fumés). Ce qui est sûr, c’est qu’ils sont délicieux!  Au niveau du look, les grillons sont souvent comparés aux crevettes.

BIEN-ÊTRE ANIMAL

1. Comment les grillons Little Food sont-ils tués?

Nous utilisons l’échaudage, une méthode rapide et indolore afin de respecter le bien-être de l’animal. Étant des animaux à sang froid, les insectes sont très sensibles à tout écart de température. L’échaudage consiste à les plonger dans l’eau bouillante. Au vu de leur taille et de leur système nerveux décentralisé, cela les tuent instantanément.

2. Comment les grillons Little Food sont-ils élevés?

Après une incubation de 10 jours, les œufs des grillons éclosent. Les petits bébés sont directement placés sur leur nourriture, dans leur enclos, bien au chaud. Ils grandissent avec leurs congénères et disposent d’autant d’eau et de nourriture dont ils ont envie. Les grillons sont cavernicoles et aiment se cacher dans des abris. Nos boites à œufs intercalées imitent leur habitat naturel et leur permettent de se sentir chez eux. La bonne santé de nos grillons, leurs comportement pacifique et le fait qu’ils puissent avoir un comportement naturel  (reproduction, vie sociale, …) nous convainc qu’ils ont une vie heureuse.

3. Que mangent les grillons Little Food?

Nos grillons sont nourris avec des résidus agricoles, à savoir des résidus de pressage d’huile de lin et de tournesol ainsi que de son, le tout BIO. Il n’y a donc pas de gaspillage, car l’économie circulaire est l’une de  nos priorités.

En utilisant seulement des co-produits, nous diminuons la compétition sur les terres agricoles entre les cultures à destination du nourrissage des animaux et celles à destination des humains, entrant ainsi dans une logique d’économie circulaire.

UTILISATION

1. Comment cuisiner les grillons Little Food?

En plus de ses qualités nutritionnelles exceptionnelles, le grillon amènera du «crunch» à vos préparations. Vous pouvez l’incorporer à la dernière étape d’une recette ou garder votre paquet de grillons sur la table et en saupoudrer vos plats. En wok, en salade, comme croûton, dans votre panini, vos quiches ou en crumble  et enrobé de chocolat la limite n’est que votre imagination. 

2. Comment utiliser nos autres produits?

Notre tapenade aubergine-grillons peut être étalée sur des tartines ou des sandwichs. Elle constitue aussi une bonne base pour agrémenter vos pâtes et vos sauces.  Les Crickers sont une solution saine et naturelle pour les petits creux de tous les jours. Ils peuvent être dégustés en apéritif ou comme snack protéiné avant ou après un entrainement physique. Constitués d’ingrédients naturels et de super-aliments, ils donneront à vos fringales le surplus de vitamines et de protéines que vous méritez. Autant en profiter!